Honda
Campus
All-Star
Challenge

Sneak Peek at Season 22

Sweet 16 Playoff Chart

Tag pics on Facebook

Grants awarded to 66 schools

Prairie View's first Championship



Prairie View President Dr. George Wright joins his team during the championship presentation (l to r): Dr. Wright, Jonathan Gholston, Gabrielle Washington, Edward Hackett, Cedrick Wilson, Cedra Wilson, Isaac Hoyt and Coach Herbert Thomas

The Panthers of Prairie View A&M University won the 2010 Honda Campus All-Star Challenge (HCASC) earning the title and a \$50,000 institutional grant for their university.

The historic first win was made all the sweeter by the presence of Prairie View's President, Dr. George Wright. The pride in the accomplishments of his students was evident in his heartfelt comments and beaming smile.

It was the first appearance in the finals for both Prairie View and Mississippi Valley State. Fisk University and Chicago State also made their debut in the "Sweet 16" this year.

The victory was the culmination of a championship weekend that celebrated and honored the achievements of students from 48 Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

The Alumni Hall of Fame welcomed two new initiates, LaDonne Lankster (Virginia Union) and Tweail S. Moten (Albany State), based on their post-college accomplishments.

Each of the eight round robin divisions advanced an All-Star who earned an additional grant for their institution by virtue of their excellent game skills, while Susan Creary of North Carolina Central was selected as Sportsperson of the Year in recognition of her outstanding team spirit and sense of fair play.

But HCASC isn't only about the games. As the students matched wits, they created relationships and shared perspectives with their peers.

HCASC provides an excellent opportunity to grow and share with newfound "Friends for Life." Between meals, games, poolside fun and quiet moments of reflection, the annual Challenge has become a memorable part of the collegiate experience for students and volunteers alike.

As team captain Cedrick Wilson noted, "I know it's going to have a lasting impact on my career... The visibility of everybody and the friendliness that comes with it, leaves a lasting impact on a person."



Ten HBCU presidents attended the closing banquet to support their students.



Rosalyn Jones presents Susan Creary with the Ernie Jones Sportsperson of the Year award.



It's all smiles for Prairie View in the postvictory interview



Kentucky State's Morgan Van Dunk shares memories with emcee Seshmi Robertson

Season 22 Sneak Peek

It's time to look forward to the 22nd year of Honda Campus All-Star Challenge. The program is taking advantage of web 2.0 applications to enhance the participant experience and there are new additions to institutional qualifications. Here's a quick look at the developments:

- 48 four-player teams will advance to the NCT
- In addition to campus tournaments, institutions will be required to complete a community service project. Documentation must be submitted as part of the Qualification packet.
- For the first time, webinars will also be available as audio podcasts.
 Players and coaches can download the sessions for review with their teams or on their own.



Webinars will be available as audio podcasts this year.

All-Stars shine with great gameplay



IVORY K. JOHNSON Mississippi Valley State University 104.00 PPG



JAMES L. WHITE
Kentucky State University
92.00 PPG



ANTHONY PRATCHER
Howard University
71.00 PPG



SEAN I. LEVINSON
West Virginia State University
68.00 PPG

aney state university
1.00 PPG

Points per game (PPG)

statistics are tallied during round robin play.

The top player from each division is advanced as an All-Star.

All-Stars earn an additional \$1,000 grant for their institution.



CEDRICK WILSON
Prairie View A&M University
66.00 PPG



JULIAN GREEN North Carolina Central University 65.00 PPG



SEAN BAKER, III
Fayetteville State University
62.00 PPG



SHELDON HOLMES Chicago State University 51.00 PPG

Tag your team for fun on Facebook

The 2010 Yearbooks are arriving in mailboxes across the country, but you can get a jumpstart on making HCASC memories by tagging your friends on Facebook.

"Tagging" is the Facebook term for identifying people in online pictures. You can leave comments, trade memories and all the "tagged" friends will be kept in the loop. All the team yearbook pages have been uploaded, so start tagging your friends today!

Facebook is also a great way to trade information about intramural scrimmages, practice sessions and gameplay tips. Search for "Honda Campus All-Star Challenge" to "like" the official group. It's the best way to keep connected on the world's most popular social network.

"Tagging" is the Facebook term for identifying people in online pictures.







Upload and tag your own pictures to share with HCASC friends.

GRANTS AWARDED

Institutional grants were distributed to 66 institutions for 2010—more than in any previous year. The grant amounts are based on tournament finish and are listed below.

Champion: \$50,000

Prairie View A&M University ¹

Runner Up: \$25.000

Mississippi Valley State University ¹

Semi Finalist: \$15,000

Fayetteville State Univ.¹ North Carolina Central Univ. 1,2

Quarter Finalist: \$9,500

Alcorn State Univ. Clark Atlanta Univ. Kentucky State Univ. ¹ Morgan State Univ.

Playoff Qualifier: \$6,000

Chicago State Univ. 1 Fisk Univ. Florida A&M Univ. Howard Univ. ¹ Langston Univ. Morehouse College Oakwood Univ. West Virginia State Univ. ¹

Qualifier: \$3,000 Alabama A&M Univ. Alabama State Univ. Benedict College Bennett College Bethune-Cookman Univ. Bowie State Univ. Delaware State Univ. Fort Valley State Univ. Hampton Univ. Harris-Stowe State Univ. Huston-Tillotson Univ. Jackson State Univ. Johnson C. Smith Univ. Lincoln Univ.-Missouri Medgar Evers College-CUNY Morris College Norfolk State Univ. North Carolina A&T State Univ. Paine College Savannah State Univ. Southern Univ.-Baton Rouge Southern Univ.-New Orleans Spelman College Talladega College Tennessee State Univ. Texas Southern Univ. Tuskegee Univ. Univ. of Maryland Eastern Shore Univ.-District of Columbia Wilberforce Univ.

Winston-Salem State Univ.

Sweet 16 Playoff Chart



Campus Qualifier: \$1,000

Albany State Univ. Central State Univ. Chevney Univ.-Pennsylvania Claflin Univ. Coppin State Univ. Elizabeth City State Univ. Lincoln Univ.-Pennsylvania Miles College Saint Augustine's College Saint Paul's College Shaw Univ. Sojourner-Douglass College South Carolina State Univ. Stillman College Texas College Tougaloo College Virginia State Univ.

1 Additional All-Star Award of \$1,000

Virginia Union Univ.

2 Sportsperson of the Year Award of \$1,000



Editor: Tom Cunningham E-Mail: tom@hcasc.com

Campus All-Star Challenge is the registered service mark of the College Bowl Company and American Honda Motor Co., Inc. Here's the Buzz is published for the participants of the Honda Campus All-Star Challenge. Ouestions and comments should be directed to the editor.

5950 Canoga Ave., Ste. 260 Woodland Hills, CA 91367 (800) 388-2272 http://www.hcasc.com

© 2010, College Bowl Company

York College